16045316 Funky Town Grooves | Mirage Records - Mirage Soul & Funk Collection Volume 1
Hello, Guest

View all US ProductsView all UK Products


Please note: If your order contains a title that is shown as A preorder item, your order will not be shipped until the preorder Has arrived, if you want items that are currently in stock please place a Separate order.

Make A Request


Mirage Records

Mirage Soul & Funk Collection Volume 1

CD $1.99

Release Date:

December 2008

Nº of Discs:


Catalogue Nº



FTG Records


Item Description

In June 1980, JERRY and BOB GREENBERG then from Atlantic Records
decided to start up their own label and MIRAGE MUSIC was born. The label
signed bands and individual artists from across many genre’s and was very
prominent from it’s inception until the late 80’s when JERRY moved on and
was named MGM/United Artists president. The label has now been reactivated
(2003/04) as MIRAGE MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT and opened offices in
Jamaica and Las Vegas and installed Stacey Greenberg as general manager.

The opening track is the vocal/long version of This Is For You by The System (1985 Pleasure Seekers) written and produced by Mic Murphy and David Franks, this version mixed by Tom Lord- Alge. Then we have Antony Franklin’s Hot Number (Vocal 12” Mix) written and produced by Jolyon Skinner and Keith Diamond (1983). Up next is Fonzi Thornton with I Work For A Livin’ (Soup For One 1982) written and produced by Jolyon Skinner and Keith Diamond, then we move on to Roz Ryan, Boy Where Have You Been (1983) long vocal version, written by Terry Price and produced by Butch Ingram. Track 5 brings T.S. Monk and Fantasy (1982 Human) written by James Calloway, Leroy Burgess, Sonny Davenport and produced by Eric Mercury. Ingram follow with D.J.’S Delight (1983 Would You Like To Fly) written by James Ingram and produced by Ingram, next we have First Love and Things Are Not The Same (Without You) (1985) vocal long version written by Jason Bryant, Sonia Rossman, Sheila Tyson and produced by Jason Bryant. After this is Carl Weathers with You Ought To Be With Me (1981) written by Carl Weathers and D.J. Emile and produced by Hadley D. Murrell, then Nile Rodgers, Yum Yum (1983 Adventures In The Land Of The Good Groove) written and produced by Nile Rodgers. Number 10 is the Vocal 12” of Carly Simon’s Why (1982 Soup For One) written and produced by Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, the Long 12” Version of M-Zee Band – Bop Box (1981 Doctor Rhythm) written by Michael Zager, Jolyon Skinner and produced by Michael Zager is followed by Stroke and You Are The One (Tony Humphries Mix)(1985 Stroke) written by Terry Price, Jerry Cohen, Alfonso Smith and produced by Terry Price. The final track comes from The Future with Nuclear Holocaust (1984) this is the 12” Version written and produced by Michael Johnson and Rodney Ford.


Latest News


Follow Us on


Todays Top 5
  1. Roy Ayers
    You Might Be Suprised (Expanded Edition)
    $2.99 »
  2. Surface
    2nd Wave (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  3. Kool Moe Dee
    How Ya Like Me Now (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  4. The Tymes
    Turning Point (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  5. Wreckin Crew
    Pixie Dust - Expanded Edition
    $1.99 »