15948592 Funky Town Grooves | Mirage Records - Mirage Soul & Funk Collection Volume 3
Hello, Guest

View all US ProductsView all UK Products


Please note: If your order contains a title that is shown as A preorder item, your order will not be shipped until the preorder Has arrived, if you want items that are currently in stock please place a Separate order.

Make A Request


Mirage Records

Mirage Soul & Funk Collection Volume 3

CD $1.99

Release Date:

May 2009

Nº of Discs:


Catalogue Nº



FTG Records


Item Description

In June 1980, JERRY and BOB GREENBERG then from Atlantic Records
decided to start up their own label and MIRAGE MUSIC was born. The label
signed bands and individual artists from across many genre’s and was very
prominent from it’s inception until the late 80’s when JERRY moved on and
was named MGM/United Artists president. The label has now been reactivated
(2003/04) as MIRAGE MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT and opened offices in
Jamaica and Las Vegas and installed Stacey Greenberg as general manager.

The third volume of Soul & Funk from the great Mirage back catalogue is packed
with 15 tracks from back in the day, the great sound of the ‘80’s again full of
12” mixes, remixes and extended tracks for your enjoyment.
For the first track we have the Jason Bryant produced First Love and Can I Be With You Tonight, then all 6 minutes 39 seconds of Brenda K. Starr’s Pickin Up Pieces, produced by Arthur Baker. Next up is The System with Pleasure Seekers (12” Version) produced and written by Mic Murphy and David Frank, mixed by Tom Lord-Alge. Then comes The Spinners and Show Me Your Magic produced by Maurice Starr followed by a Sandy Linzer production of T.S. Monk with Too Much Too Soon. The 12” mix (5:51) of Blue Magic’s See Through comes next written and produced by Butch Ingram, then straight into the Taka Boom track Climate For Love mixed by Tom Lord-Alge and produced by Billy Rush. Track 8 is The Spinners with She Does which was remixed by Patrick Adams and produced by Ashley Irwin followed by Hypnotize from Terri Jones another track produced by Patrick Adams. Another big track from Ingram, Smoothin Groovin written by James Ingram and produced by the Ingram Family comes before a rare Mirage hip-hop track from The Incredible Body Mechanix (featuring Omega Clash MCs) and B-Boy Your Best (12" version) produced by Craig Peyton and Nelson Cruz. Back to Mic Murphy and David Frank with The System’s 12" Vocal Remix of I Don't Run From Danger, with help from Chris Lord-Alge in mixing, after this the 12” Version of Gail Freeman and Mr. Right produced by Richie Weeks and Danny Weiss. Track 14 brings the extended version of Jean Knight’s My Toot Toot produced by Isaac Bolden, we finish off with the extremely popular hip-hop track Break Dance Party from Break Machine (6:32) produced by Jacques Morali.

Available Now from www.funkytowngrooves.com

Latest News


Follow Us on


Todays Top 5
  1. LA Voyage
    Never Lookin Back (Again)
    $1.99 »
  2. Esther Williams
    Inside Of Me (Remastered)
    $2.99 »
  3. Raydio
    Rock On (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  4. Diana Ross
    Why Do Fools Fall In Love (Expanded Edition)
    $2.99 »
  5. Charles Earland
    Earland's Jam (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »