16056078 Funky Town Grooves | The Manhattans - With These Hands / A Million To One (2 CD Deluxe Edition)
Hello, Guest

View all US ProductsView all UK Products


Please note: If your order contains a title that is shown as A preorder item, your order will not be shipped until the preorder Has arrived, if you want items that are currently in stock please place a Separate order.

Make A Request


The Manhattans

With These Hands / A Million To One (2 CD Deluxe Edition)

CD $3.98

Release Date:

February 2015

Nº of Discs:


Catalogue Nº





Disc: 1

1. Can't Take My Eyes Off You
2. Loneliness
3. By The Time I Get To Phoenix
4. Straight From My Heart
5. It s Gonna Take A Lot To Bring Me Back
6. If My Heart Could Speak
7. With These Hands
8. Georgia On My Mind
9. Give Him Up
10. People Get Ready

Bonus Tracks

11. From Atlanta To Goodbye
12. Rainbow Week
13. Let Them Talk
14. Fantastic Journey
15. Windmills Of Your Mind (Single Version)
16. The Picture Became Quite Clear
17. Oh, Lord I Wish I could Sleep

Disc: 2

1. A Million To One
2. It s The Only
3. Back Up
4. You On My Mind
5. Fever
6. Do You Ever
7. Strange Old World
8. One Life To Love
9. Blackbird
10. Cry If You Wanna Cry
11. Teen Liberation
12. I Can t Stand For You To Leave Me

Item Description

Only a small amount of this title available

2 CD Deluxe Edition of The Manhattans 1971 & 1972 albums, With These Hands / A Million To One

Includes 7 Bonus Tracks

The album includes chart hits, "It's Gonna Take A Lot To Bring Me Back", “If My Heart Could Speak,” “A Million To One,” “Cry If You Wanna Cry,” ”One Life to Live,” “Back Up” and “From Atlanta To Goodbye”.

With These Hands produced by George Kerr

Love Corporation produced by Teddy Randazzo

Liner Notes by Matt Bauer

Re-Mastered from the Original Master Tapes by Sean Brennan, at Battery Studio’s, New York

Formed in 1962, The Manhattans originally from Jersey City, New Jersey enlisted in the armed forces and came together as a group following their discharges from their respective branches.

The group's first single was "For the Very First Time," released in 1964 by Carnival Records. Life after Carnival Records found The Manhattans recording for the Deluxe label, where they cut some charmers.

“With These Hands” is the closest The Manhattans came to recording an album of standards or pop material. The album's ten songs consist of five standards and five cold-blooded originals.

You can't help but feel the aching pain in "It's Gonna Take A Lot To Bring Me Back," a R&B hit slow weeper that oozes soul. "Give Him Up" displays the quintet's lovely up tempo harmony; and the tear jerking "If My Heart Could Speak" became a slow, tenderly sung ballad and one of their best.

The next DeLuxe single, released in late 1971, paved the way for upcoming Manhattans smashes later in the 70’s. The title track already has many of the basic elements that the future success sound was built on and became a slowly swaying melodic and beautiful ballad.

The single peaked at #47 on the US Soul and # 114 US Pop Charts, and, although it didn’t break into the Hot 100, this single was closest to the crossover the group had enjoyed so far.

The album was not only the second, but also the last Manhattans album on the DeLuxe label, appearing on the Billboard Soul Charts and stayed there for fifteen weeks, peaking at #35.

In the afterglow of “One Life to Live”, also “Back Up” climbed quite high on the charts. The non-single sides including “You On My Mind”, a cute ballad, “Strange Old World”, and finally the psychedelic rock-dancer titled “Teenage Liberation."

Latest News


Follow Us on


Todays Top 5
  1. The Chi-lites
    Steppin Out (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  2. Billy Ocean
    City Limit (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  3. Aretha Franklin
    Aretha (2 CD Deluxe Edition)
    $7.98 »
  4. Diana Ross
    Swept Away (2 CD Deluxe Edition)
    $3.99 »
  5. First Circle
    Boy's Night Out (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »