15812238 Funky Town Grooves | Tavares - Words And Music - Expanded Edition
Hello, Guest

View all US ProductsView all UK Products


Please note: If your order contains a title that is shown as A preorder item, your order will not be shipped until the preorder Has arrived, if you want items that are currently in stock please place a Separate order.

Make A Request



Words And Music - Expanded Edition

Out of Stock

Release Date:

June 2012

Nº of Discs:


Catalogue Nº



Funkytowngrooves USA


1. Ten To One
2. Deeper In Love
3. Caught Short
4. (You're) My All
5. Words And Music
6. Baby I Want You Back
7. I Really Miss You Baby
8. Don't Play So Hard To Get
9. Us And Love (We Go Together)
10. Deeper In Love (12 Inch Version)
11. Words And Music (12 Inch Spoken Intro Pop Version)
12. Words And Music (12 Inch Vocal Intro R&B Intro)

Item Description

Delighted to annouce the first ever CD release of The Tavare's 1983 album Words and Music, Expanded with 3 bonus tracks.

From the Original Master Tapes

Usual price is $13.99 - Price during presale = $11.99 a saving of $2.00.

Words and Music is the eleventh and final album by American soul/R&B group Tavares, released by RCA in 1983. The album contains a top 10 R&B single in "Deeper in Love", and peaked at #48 on the R&B chart. 2012 See’s the first time ever CD release of this title.

The Tavares brothers from New Bedford, Massachusetts, whose parents were of Cape Verde descent, started performing in 1959 as Chubby and the Turnpikes when the youngest brother was 9 years old. Future Aerosmith drummer Joey Kramer appeared as the "token white-guy drummer" in an early incarnation of Tavares. Chubby and The Turnpikes signed with Capitol records in 1967 and had a couple of local hit records including "I Know The Inside Story" in 1967 and "Nothing But Promises" in 1968.[2] By 1973, they had changed their name to Tavares and scored their first R&B Top 10 (Pop Top 40) hit with "Check it Out" that same year, and soon began charting regularly on the R&B and pop charts. Their first album included their brother Victor, who sang lead on "Check it Out", but dropped out of the group shortly after. In 1974 Tavares had a #1 R&B hit with Hall & Oates' "She's Gone," (which became a hit for Hall & Oates as well two years later). Tavares followed up that success with "Remember What I Told You to Forget."
1975 turned out to be their most successful year chart-wise, chalking up a Top 40 Pop album (In the City) and their biggest hit, the Top 10 Pop/#1 R&B smash "It Only Takes a Minute", which was later successfully covered by both Jonathan King and Take That, and recently sampled by Jennifer Lopez.They parlayed this success into a spot as an opening act for the Jackson 5. KC and The Sunshine Band was also on this tour. This was followed by a string of hits: "Heaven Must Be Missing an Angel" (1976), "Don't Take Away the Music" (1976), and "Whodunit" (1977, another #1 R&B hit), among others. In 1977 they also recorded "I Wanna See You Soon", a duet with Capitol label mate Freda Payne which received airplay on BBC Radio 1 but failed to chart.
Many of their hits, however, underplayed their R&B background and gave the group the image of being a disco act. This perception was reinforced by their appearance on the soundtrack to the film Saturday Night Fever in 1977. Tavares recorded the Bee Gees track "More Than a Woman," and their version reached the Pop Top 40 that year. The soundtrack became one of the most successful in history, giving Tavares their only Grammy.
Later albums, such as Madam Butterfly and Supercharged, strayed from the disco format and were less successful on the Pop chart (although they continued to have Top 10 R&B hits such as "Never Had a Love Like This Before" and the popular socio-political "Bad Times" written by British singer-songwriter Gerard McMahon). At the start of the 1980s, Tavares left Capitol Records, signing with RCA. They had one last major hit, the ballad "A Penny for Your Thoughts", for which they were nominated for a Grammy in 1982, and their last major release was Words and Music in 1983.
In 1984, Ralph Tavares stepped down from the group, and Tiny left in the mid 1990s, but the other three brothers continue to tour. In early 2009, Tiny Tavares rejoined and is currently touring with the group.

Latest News


Follow Us on


Todays Top 5
  1. Spank
    Spank You (Remastered Edition)
    $1.99 »
  2. The Three Degrees
    Standing Up For Love (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  3. The Suttons
    So Good (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »
  4. Janice McClain
    Janice McClain - Expanded Edition
    $1.99 »
  5. First Circle
    Boy's Night Out (Expanded Edition)
    $1.99 »