Muscle Shoals Horns – Born To Get Down (Expanded Edition)

(1 customer review)


Out of stock

SKU: FTG-417 Category:
Artist Muscle Shoals Horns
Nº of Discs 1
Release Date 01-4-2015
Label Funkytowngrooves
Format CD


Few Copies coming back from a Previous Distributor – Will be arriving 28th February 2018

First Time Ever onto CD for Muscle Shoals Horns 1976 album “Born To Get Down”

Muscle Shoals Horns’ 1977 album Born To Get Down has been Expanded and on CD for the First Time Ever

Expanded with 4 Bonus Track

Liner Notes by Alex Henderson

Re-Mastered from the

Original Master Tapes by Sean Brennan, at Battery Studio’s, New York

Born To Get Down is a 1976 album by Muscle Shoals Horns and the original releases became their debut album for Bang Records.

Produced by Barry Beckett and backed by the cream of the Muscle Shoals studio talent, this set was a complete surprise. Who would have expected a horn-based outfit to debut with so much enthusiasm.

The album was simply terrific and had they avoided the dreaded trap of disco banality as showcased on funky Ken Bell guitar riffs and the showcasing of Thompson’s flute playing.

“Breakdown” found the group adding a rawer funky edge to their sound with a blazing Bell lead guitar solo and an extended Eades sax solo taking the spotlight.

Showcasing Calloway on vocals, “Where I’m Coming From” was a slinky bluesy ballad with a surprisingly confrontational slice of social commentary.

The slinky disco-tinged ballad, “Who’s Gonna Love You” was actually a disco song for people who didn’t like disco.

As if you couldn’t tell from the title, ‘Bump De Bump You Boogie’ was a mindless slice of Kool and the Gang-styled dance music.

“Born To Get Down (Born To Mess Around)” found the band diving into hardcore funk; Nice groove with some classic synthesizer flourishes and punchy horn charts.


1. Open Up Your Heart
2. Break Down
3. Where I’m Coming From
4. Hustle To The Music
5. Who’s Gonna Love You
6. Bump De Bump Yo Boodie
7. Born To Get Down (Born To Mess Around)
8. Get It Up
9. Give It To Me


10. Bump De Bump Yo Boodie (7” Version)
11. Where I’m Comin From (7” Version)

1 review for Muscle Shoals Horns – Born To Get Down (Expanded Edition)

  1. sleeyo

    great funk band

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *